The Heads: 97% sausage

I haven’t posted a music blog for a while. I have been to a few gigs this year, and some pretty good ones too, but I’ve been busy writing about Iran and Morocco.
So to inaugurate the 2016 MooseandHobbes music blah blah, it’s The Heads. 😀 Whoop whoop.
The last time I saw them play was in September at Liverpool Psych Fest, and that was an absolute blast so I was well up for some more. This week I was looking at two gigs in two nights, in London and Manchester, so I  was gearing up for an onslaught.
First up, London. The Lexington, between King’s Cross and Angel, is where I saw The Heads before. That was a fun gig; loud and dancey. They also had lots of merchandise on the stall, in a variety of colours, so the HeadsHeads were in Nerdvana.
3
The set was totally funky and included a number of songs that are basically long jams. The last time I saw them they could have been charged with ABH but although this was, I think, the same setlist, this gig had more of a groove and less of a battering, opening with the extended build of Bedlam. I particularly enjoyed Quad and Cardinal Fuzz, but, loving a wig-out as I do, Stodgy brought a grin to my face. It’s amazing how different the same songs can sound.
2
At first I was thinking that it could have been louder (I always think this, so it’s not unusual), but by the end, me and my pal Jeremy were yelling at each other, so I think that the volume increased as the set went along.
As an aside, I was also struck by the make-up of the audience. I think that I only saw about 6 women in the whole place! Including me!! Maybe I was looking in the wrong place and all of the feminine elements were clustered together somewhere else. Odd.
The next day I was off up to Manchester for more action at The Ruby Lounge (and Romans too, but that’s another story). I met up with Leeds pals Ann (@ann_sequinworld) and Andy. Ann had done her leg in so was hobbling a bit, but was, otherwise, on good form.
8
They played the same set, but the gig was a bit of a different beast again. Higher volume and a much harder, edgier sound meant that, although the set was still pretty funky, it had considerably bigger teeth.
3
52
I don’t know who this chap is, but he had a setlist and a startled expression. Clearly, fame awaits him.
10
So how did these two gigs compare? Let’s look at the round-up:
  • London: more funkalicious, a bit quieter, ~97% sausage.
  • Manchester: harder, louder, lower sausage ratio. Maybe 65-70%.
7 4
The Heads were due to be playing in Prestatyn the following night, at ATP Stewart Lee. This is one of those holiday camp festivals that I find a bit much (I won’t even try to explain why, they just don’t suit me), so I didn’t plan to go, even though the line-up is great. Judging by this couple of gigs, this last gig at ATP will probably be harder than a Honey Badger with a flick-knife. I just wish it wasn’t at Pontins.
And so I made my way back to London and crashed out. That was good. A couple of days of Total Heads was just what I needed to blast the cobwebs out of my brain.
6
Now, if only I could get a bit of Loop…
Leave a Reply

