Teenage Fanclub and Friends

Christmas 1990.

At The Venue in New Cross, we celebrated the season with music, booze, fun, booze, youthful hijinks, booze and spray snow. And booze.

Teenage Fanclub played with a range of pals including the BMX Bandits, The Pastels, Primal Scream, Robert Hampson (from Loop), Eugene Kelly and the amazing Duglasettes (AKA Chantelle in the silver dress).

This is one of those nights that I thought I’d imagined. I had a vague recollection of Teenage Fanclub playing with Loop but that just sounded so unlikely. And then I found the photos.

The image quality is universally terrible because the photos were taken by a drunk person with a crappy disposable camera. The venue also seems to have been incredibly smokey. Or maybe the film is fogged. Or both. Probably both.

 

Looking at some of these pictures, it looks like I may even have been climbing the speaker stack in my glee. I’m an old lady now and my speaker-stack-climbing days are over (you’ll be pleased to hear).

17

29

30

Leave a Reply

